Andreas Merz-Raykov studied dramaturgy at Bavarian Theatre Academy and Ludwig Maximilians University in Munich, Germany, and theatre directing at University Mozarteum Salzburg, Austria. After the graduation he worked at Bayerisches Staatsschauspiel in Munich until in 2008 he moved to Berlin, where he worked together with Frank Castorf at Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz and staged there several productions of his own.

2012-2013 Andreas was closely collaborating with Heimathafen Neukölln, Berlin, a theatre which focuses on the complex history and development of its city-borough, regarded as one of Germany’s most troubled districts. Here he staged his own adaptation of Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis in 2013.

In 2012 upon the recommendation of Frank Castorf Andreas was granted the scholarship of the German Academy of Arts with a residence in Villa Serpentara, Olevano Romano, Rome, Italy.

In 2013 Saratov Academic Kiselev TUZ theatre invited Andreas to stage Bertolt Brecht's Saint Joan of the Stockyards in the framework of the German cultural year in Russia. Since then Andreas, in collaboration with his wife, theater translator Ekaterina Raykova-Merz, is working with different theaters in Russia.

Andreas' staging of Brecht's He Who Says Yes, He Who Says No (Stage-Molot, Perm) was nominated as the "Best small scale production" for the Russian national theater award Golden Mask 2015 - as well as Andreas himself as the "Best Director".

In 2016 the experts of the Golden Mask nominated the Andreas' staging of Streetcar Named Desire (Serov) as the "Best large scale production", and also Andreas as the "Best Director".

When working on a project Andreas is particularly concerned with local cultural and social circumstances, in actors’ personal history and in discovering an actual meaning a text gains in a given context. His goal is to work with personal qualities of actors and make them visible on stage, developing profound interconnections between the actor and the role. Andreas perceives a theatre text not only as a form, which has to be refilled, - for him it is first and foremost the rule of the game and the groundwork for a socio-political dialogue with the ensemble.

Andreas Merz-Raykov studierte Dramaturgie an der Bayerischen Theaterakademie und der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München und Theater-Regie an der Universität Mozarteum in Salzburg. Nach dem Studium arbeitete er am Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel in München bis er 2008 an die Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz Berlin wechselte, wo er mit Frank Castorf zusammenarbeitete und mehrere eigene Inszenierungen realisierte.

Von 2012 bis 2013 arbeitete Andreas eng mit dem Theater Heimathafen Neukölln zusammen, das sich als Kiez-Theater in Deutschlands bekanntestem Problembezirk mit der Thematik Neuköllns und der seiner Bewohner auseinandersetzt. Dort inszenierte er unter anderem 2013 seine eigene Bearbeitung von Franz Kafkas Verwandlung unter dem Titel Der Käfer.

2012 erhielt Andreas auf Frank Castorfs Empfehlung das Villa-Serpentara-Stipendium der Akademie der Künste, verbunden mit einer Residenz in Olevano Romano, Rom, Italien.

2013 wurde Andreas vom Theater TUZ in Saratow eingeladen, im Rahmen des deutschen Kulturjahres in Russland Bertolt Brechts Die heilige Johanna der Schlachthöfe zu inszenieren. Seitdem ist er in Zusammenarbeit mit seiner Frau, der Übersetzerin Ekaterina Raykova-Merz, an zahlreichen Theatern in Russland tätig.

Andreas Inszenierung von Brechts Der Jasager und der Neinsager (Perm) wurde 2015 als "Beste Produktion der kleinen Form" für den nationalen russischen Theaterpreis Goldene Maske nominiert. Ebenfalls erhielt Andreas eine Nominierung als "Bester Regisseur".

2016 nominierte das Expertenkomitee der Goldene Masken die Produktion Endstation Sehnsucht aus Serow als "Beste Produktion der großen Form" und Andreas erneut als "Besten Regisseur".

In seinen Arbeiten interessiert Andreas besonders die Beschäftigung mit den kulturellen und sozialen Gegebenheiten vor Ort, die persönliche Geschichte der Darsteller und die Frage, wie literarische Stoffe sich in den jeweiligen Kontexten aufgrund von lokalen Besonderheiten aufladen und eine zusätzliche Bedeutung gewinnen. Es ist ihm ein Anliegen auf der Bühne vor allem die persönliche Qualität der einzelnen Spieler sichtbar zu machen, um so interessante Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Darstellern und ihren Rollen herzustellen. Theatertexte sind für Andreas niemals nur eine Form, die es zu erfüllen gibt, sondern in erster Linie Spielverabredung und Grundlage für einen gesellschaftspolitischen Dialog mit dem Ensemble.